lilac boy

all my life I’ve been
a lilac boy
I lack the tools
to bring you joy
I sing of scarlet strife
that from my veins deploy
soaked in my azure heart
to form a violet boy
my palms throb red
as I strike the page
with words I should’ve said
in another age
I lack the sound
to bring you joy
go back underground
you lilac boy
I sing of scar-filled lives
the kind I would avoid
but a face of blush
and my blue soul’s lust
paints a violent boy
for years I’ve been
this lilac boy
my tears descend,
eroding joy

Leave a Reply

