he leaves his tree

I’m feeling guilty,
feeling empty
I’m a leaf
who
fell from his tree
all my family
stands above me

they don’t understand
me

and my memory
or my thoughts now
filled with envy
they’ve a place
in that canopy
but there’s no space
reserved for me
they alter their shades
with changing seasons
my evergreen ways
are seen as treason

I’m feeling filthy,
feeling empty
I’m a leaf
who
fell from his tree
all my family
stands above me

I don’t understand

how they still love me
when from their hands
they see me flee
I plucked myself
from tree to ground
can’t stay on that shelf
lest my thoughts be found

I’m feeling guilty,
feeling empty
I took a leave
from my own history
all my family
stands above me

will they understand
me

when I disagree
with the constructs
they
set up for me

Leave a Reply

